Richardson's diary entries for October 1938

Sunday 9th October 1938
Left Gyantse for Lhasa [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 148]. Travelled down Nyang Chu valley to Penam Dzong [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 148] Left Gyantse for Shigatse accompanied by Babu Gyatso Topden - rode down Nyang chu - passed village of Nyang-to-Kyi buk - arrived Penam [[MS Or Richardson 32 folio 178 - official report]
Saturday 22nd October 1938
Writes to parents from Lhasa describing route to Shigatse [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 148]. Lunch with Nechung Oracle in his lingka before entering Lhasa in the afternoon [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 151]
Monday 10th October 1938
Arrives Shigatse [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 148] Started early and passed monastery of Gartong / Gadong - arrived Shigatse and stayed at Yapshi Tro-Khang [MS Or Richardson 32 folio 178]
Tuesday 11th October 1938
Visits Dzong at Shigatse and received callers including Dingja and Dele Rabden [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 149]
Wednesday 12th October 1938
Called on senior official or Kyabying of Shigatse, Dzasa Lama, in absence of Tashi Lama [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 149]. Went to party at Dele Rabdenís house
Thursday 13th October 1938
Visited Tashilhunpo monastery and stayed about 4 hours [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 149]. Gave lunch to all the big officials Went to Tashilhunpo under guidance of Nyertsang Chhempo
Friday 14th October 1938
Returned calls and attended a Ďsort of dramatic show which went on for two daysí [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 150] - took photos of Dele Rabdenís at festival
Saturday 15th October 1938
Returned calls and attended a Ďsort of dramatic show which went on for two daysí [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 150] - took photos of Dele Rabdenís at festival
Sunday 16th October 1938
Left Shigatse [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 150] - left via Lhu-gu and Peng and Engon Gompa
Monday 17th October 1938
Arrived at Tagtukha - saw large Bon monastery called Yang-tung-ling [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 150; MS Or Richardson 32 folio 179]
Tuesday 18th October 1938
Arrived Chutsenka with hot spring [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 150-1] Travelled through Rimpung Dzong and monastery of Rong Cham-chhen with a large image of Champa [MS Or Richardson 32 folio 179]
Wednesday 19th October 1938
Arrive Pede and Yamdrok Tso [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 151]
Thursday 20th October 1938
Crossed Khamba La and Khamba Partse and Tsang-po to reach Chusul; crossed ferry at Chaksam with flat bottomed wooden boats with carved horse heads [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 151; MS Or Richardson 32 folio 179]
Friday 21st October 1938
Netang - met by brother of Nechung Oracle; invited HR to visit lunch with oracle [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 151]
Monday 24th October 1938
Lhasa - writes to parents saying that he hopes to be here for a year or more [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 151]
Tuesday 25th October 1938
Visits Kashag, Regent and PM to mark official arrival back in Lhasa [MS Or Richardson 3 folio 152]
Wednesday 26th October 1938
Norbhu leaves Lhasa [MS Or Richardson 32 folio 179]
Sunday 30th October 1938
Went to a party given by Doring in summer house [MS Or Richardson 32 folio 179]